Da Queen's Hoose

A windy day, low cloud turning to mist, and then started raining at 4pm.  Finally stopped this evening. 

Back to work at a busy day in the museum.  There has been bus tours, the last day of the archaeology conference, and also a large knitting group tour.  I've been busy dismantling stuff from the weekend events.  Finished work, and then dashed down for my shift in the pub.  I'm on til close tonight.

I nipped down to mam's to check on the cat, and managed a brisk walk too.  This old house used to be home to the Queen of Eid (Aith), Meggie Smith.  She apparently ran a shebeen down from her house.  She was long gone before I was born, but she was a beautiful lass in her day, probably why she got the nickname.  There was the remains of the thatched roof when I was a boy, but it's long gone now.  The old sandstones are starting to crumble, and won't stand forever.  Taken at Aith, Cunningsburgh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.