The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Walk The Line

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Today was the annual ‘Walk The Line’ event - an eight mile walk from Penicuik to Dalkeith along the old railway track. It is organised by Ageing Well, a Midlothian council project.

This was the event we did a couple of years ago. I managed to get out of it last year by tearing the cartridge in my knee (not deliberately) and it may have been the only time I didn’t mind having the injury!

Mary Doll, having decided that cycling is her thing, was less insane about it than she was 2 years ago. She only complained once that I was walking too slowly and “I’ll end up walking up your heels” but she was happy as soon as we let her past to be in alpha position at the front of the pack!

There is a pit-stop after 5 miles at Rosewell so everyone can refuel with lentil soup and a roll. It hadn’t occurred to me last time, but The Youngest Mini (rightly) pointed out that a cemetery is quite an odd place to have the pit-stop on an Ageing Well walk. I told her it was for the people ageing less well which got me a tut from Mary Doll!

I read a little about Ageing Well after the walk. They do loads of great work to promote healthy lifestyles for older adults with a range of activities. I was however, slightly upset that ‘older adults’ means anyone aged 50+.

Looks like I only have 3 more years of being a young adult!

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.