Wonderful Wastwater

We awoke to a real hard frost- but also a crystal clear day, plans quickly made we set off on a favourite wander. A long lazy loop of Eskdale, plenty of pauses, much laughing at Missy's antics. Even an impromptu river crossing followed by a bit of a sunbathe.
I'd thought I might brave a wild swim, but the water was shockingly cold, I made it as far as my thighs and counted to 30, but it felt glacial.
I'd thought Lingcove Bridge would be my blip. But. The Rat had other ideas...

Long term readers will have deduced that (a) I don't like not getting my own way & (b) once I get an idea in my head.... 

I'd not liked not paddling yesterday, even though I knew it was totally the right call. I'd brought the playboat all this way with a mental image in mind. So when the girls decided they wanted to snooze.... off I set. 

Wastwater was looking spectacular, calm and beautiful. I paddled far too far,  but it was oh so worth it, the last low light making the water, the high places and the soul all glow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.