Star Treatment

Continuing my book on the trail of Perrett took me back to student days. And it’s so hard to find a list of gigs at student venues from the seventies, but at last I found it - The Only Ones 23 Oct 1977 (Supporting Chris Spedding) // St.Andrews University // Fife, Scotland. Yep, I was there. Just need to try and remember anything about it now.
And continuing in similar vein (indeed) I was chatting to a guy here who seemed a bit of an ok dude. Turns out he’s Charlie Salt’s dad! Yes, Charlie from The Blossoms. Y’know, Stockport’s top band, shortlisted for the Mercury Prize two years ago.
I thought you were in the rock biz, he says to me; said to my missus, he reminds me of someone - it’s that Anton Newcombe from the Brian Jonestown Massacre, that’s who.
The SK, overhearing it all from her sedentary lounger, slumped in disbelief as I coolly accepted the mistake. Easily done. Happens all the time.
If I was insufferable before....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.