There maybe trouble ahead....

So up at 7 Alice arrived at 8 and we left for the hospital at 831. We were there and parked by 0920 and we all headed off to Radiology for the Ultrasound on my shoulder. Originally I was to have a steroid injection., but because I'm pain free they just had a look to see what was going on. Steph (haemophilia physio) was there (see extra) to see 1st hand how it was looking. So because it's feeling so good and I am feeling better, the only action was to get some new exercises. The rotator cuff is still damaged but I have to try to build the other muscles to compensate for its loss.

So after a chat with Steph I went off to my spine appointment at 1030. I met the new surgeon who I found to be clear and concise. Also he told me the truth :

He compared the MRI image done pre op October 18) with the MRI image done 2 weeks ago. He said he could see no change. In fact he said I will only get worse. At some stage I will need an operation to insert a steel rod, plates and screws.
He could only give me a 40 60 chance that it would be successful. He asked me what I wanted to do. I said I would return in 6months and discuss it again with him to which he agreed. He asked that I carry on exercising and before the 6months is up he would like a ct scan carried out so has the full picture

Time was getting on and on the way home we stopped for a pub lunch, and I had 2 pints of strong ale to go with it!

Home then and A went straight to bed, then C went to collect Z from preschool and shortly after that N arrived to take them both home.. Phew what a day.!

Day 48 - shoulder

3000 units of F8 injected at 8am no problems no pain.

Cool day with light showers.

Steph is in the extras

Ps if you read thjs Steph I'm sorry you got relegated to the extras, after saying you would be my blip of the day x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.