Huly Hill

First day of retirement as my 5 year contract finished on Sunday evening.

Had to get up sharp in case the builders needed into the house at 8. They didn’t. So did some correspondence, tidied up and then headed out to do a few tasks I had planned to keep me busy!

One was to get the rear wiper fixed. I had 2 hours at Newbridge so went for a walk. Saw the “new bridge”! A little very old stone one where I met a couple looking out for a kingfisher which had been spotted there.

Then headed to Huly Hill. A Google search will give you more details but it is an old site surrounded by a few standing stones. It is beside the main M8/M9 interchange and almost opposite the McDonald’s. And it lies under the flag get path of Edinburgh Airpot a mile or so away.

For all the years I’ve driven passed here I never knew of it.

This clump of mushrooms stood out in the afternoon sun and the opportunity to get the mound on the left, a stone and a plane taking off was too tempting. I think it makes for a different picture. And I had the time to wait, the mushrooms look better in the extra which I think is the better photo - but does not have the aircraft.

Popped into the office to hand back the technology and my passes. Changed my Twitter name too.

Home by 5:30.

Not clear if I have to get up early tomorrow though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.