Who said chivalry is dead?

Another week! Another year! It's two years today that I left the UK to embark on my overseas posting. Really glad I've bagged a further six months abroad and heard this week that my final three months will be spent in Dubai! Pleased with that as a final posting but trying not to get too excited as I've never had as much notice for a posting, and things could change.

Anyway - you might be wondering why my desk looks like a florist - well, International Women's Day is celebrated in a big fashion in the Former Soviet States and given that we wouldn't be in work on Sunday (the actual day - 8th March), the ladeeeez in the office were suitably spoilt by the three male colleagues! I arrived at work to find a single rose on my desk, it was champers and plov for lunch, with fruit and chocs afterwards. In addition, several bouquets, cakes and chocs were brought to the office by outside contacts, so it was calorie-tastic! I remember it being marked in India but nowhere near to the levels displayed here.

Anyway - busy old day at work but most of us were out on Friday night to wet a baby's head and to celebrate the day (in advance). It went a fair way into Saturday, so a late night with Saturday pretty much lost to a hideous hangover. Too many vodka shots.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.