Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Courage Spirit Beauty

They are three words that many people would use when they think of my darling CCN. Many of you may know by now that after an incredibly courageous struggle my beautiful soul mate passed peacefully away last Monday the 14th of August.

Over the past three years Catherine has struggled with both Parkinsons Disease and Lewy Body Dementia. Sadly it seems that over recent times in particular the two incredibly debilitating conditions were on a collision course and there was no turning back.

We have spent the past few weeks at Wombat Hollow in the Blue Mountains as I was determined that Catherine would be cared for at home and we have had the most incredible palliative medical team supporting us throughout this journey.

I felt I needed to reach out to my blip buddies around the world and just give you an incite into what our struggle was all about. Your heartwarming and loving messages have been of great comfort to me in particular and I feel I have your arms wrapped around both of during this time.

I am going to have a short break from blipfoto until we have formally said goodbye to my kind, gentle compassionate woman who has loved and cared for me for the past 17 years.

Catherine’s funeral will be held in the Blue Mountains on Friday the 25th of October and our families are flying in from the far reaches of Australia to help me celebrate the life of a remarkable soul.

Thank you once again for your prayers and support.
Love Barb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.