Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Border Hills

Not too shabby a morning, if a little cool for the Sunday morning bike ride. There is a slight sw wind, so I opt for a clockwise ride, out to Auchendinny and straight on to Leadburn. It's back towards Penicuik then the Moor road to West Linton. Not bad blue sky and clouds. It is always windy on the moor. Once through West Linton, it's on to the Bogsbank road to the A701. The blip shows Drum Maw and White Knowe just before I turn into Romannobridge.

From Romannobridge it's down the Lyne Valley to the A72, the wind is now pushing me along, through Lyne, and on to the road through the Meldons. the blue skies disappear for a bit as I head over the pass, and down in to Eddleston. The A703 is a bit bumpy here for a bout a mile north of Eddleston, but it does smooth out in the end.

The last part is up the hairpin bends on to another moor road, and I am blown along past Gladhouse Reservoir and on to the Top Gear road. I should be cycling in to the wind, but it is more of a crosswind as I head over Mount Lothian. A great long descent to Auchendinny, beforeclimbing up Auchendinny Brae and back home along the Seafield Moor Road.

The ride can be seen at Relive here.

Afternoon is spent in walking from Morningside to Tollcross visiting the charity shops. A nice sunny afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.