K9tam

By K9tam

Getting ready.

Today we went to see the boat my friend's husband is rowing the Atlantic in. They are a crew of four, the other three rowers are all members of the Scots Guards. The charity they are rowing for is the Scots Guards charity. I can't get over how small it is and just can't imagine it on the Atlantic waves. They hope to reach Antigua in less than 40 days, a journey of 4,000 miles! I've seen how much food they are taking and not sure how it will all fit in. They each need approx. 5,000 calories a day. Apparently the amount of food for each rower is equivalent to 1 man and 1 woman's  supply of food for an entire year. I'm in awe and will watch their journey with interest, especially having seen the boat. Certainly not my idea of fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.