Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

Consultation

Glasgow City Council has opened for consultation the plans for George Square, in the form of the 'final' six designs. These have been reported in the Herald and posted on the City website

The designs are also attracting the crowds on Floor 5 of the Lighthouse in Mitchell Lane and I went along to confirm my 'choice' and to fill in a feedback form.

Great to hear Glasgow folk raucous in defence of their idea of a place. As with Kelvingrove Art Gallery, George Square is woven into the emotional grain of the City, so words like 'outrageous' "ridiculous" and 'an absolute disgrace" were there for the evesdropping.

Me? I worry about Design 4, because the 'loggia' seems to block several perspectives on the G.P.O. building, of which I am very fond. The others have their positives and negatives.

After the mess made of the Square when the grass areas and trees disappeared in favour of hideous red tarmac, I don't agree with those who think there should be a "Design 7: Do nothing!" but I do think the notion of real consultation may be a smokescreen for a decision already made in the City Chambers.

Design 6, please. And by the way, I chose the Miralles for Holyrood from the start: make of that what you wish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.