stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Lamplight - Kemps Corner

Lazy blipday today. Da Hood!

"Restalrig Road South brings back memories of the late-1940's and early-1950's. We used to call it 'The Village' - why, I have no idea.

On the left, is the church and the graveyard. There used to be shops. The one that I remember was the barber, Peter Easton and his son. They cut my hair and my Dad's many a time over the years. Moving down, there was the church hall, where the cubs, scouts etc use to meet. I was one of those cubs, at least for a short time.

Moving further down, there was the fish and chip shop, then Rintouls. If I remember correctly, they were something to do with whisky. Then, there was the doctor's surgery, Dr. Ferguson, or at least it was his when I was a lad. Then, there was the newsagent. I remember using my sweet coupons there at the weekend, the only time I had any money. Round the corner from Kemps was Marionville Road and I lived just a couple of entries (remember that word?) along there.

Across the road from the Doctor's surgery, there were the allotments. There's a housing estate there now. At about this point, there is a road leading to the Loganlea area, then there was a pub, 'The Bunch of Grapes', I think. It was owned by the Dodds.

Past the pub, there was a small parade of shops:

- The Dairy.

- The Greengrocer's, Mrs Lea.

- Kemp's the off-licence. I remember Charlie Kemp well.

No doubt things have changed, but I have still memories of playing kick the can, hide and seek etc., and playing on the swings and roundabout in the park opposite.

I don't get back that often now and the lads I used to knock around with have gone their separate ways, but I am still in touch with a few of them, even though one is now living in New Zealand. They were happy days."

The recollections of Robert Fender ~ July 29, 2011




Note:- The Bunch of Grapes is in fact The Bunch of Roses, unless of course, it too changed from one to the other over time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.