Beewriter

By Beewriter

Hallowe’en Swim

I had booked today off so that I could do the Hallowe’en Swim at the Watersport Centre. I had persuaded Kim to do it with me too. It had said wetsuits were compulsory, but when I got there I found out you could do it in skins if you had a tow float. I stripped off my suit then wrapped a towel round me and raced back to the car park to grab my float. Yay!

It was freezing as we waited to get in and as for the water.....it was a frighteningly freezing shock to the system. We couldn’t speak for a minute or two until we had numbed through, but then we were fine. You could potter near the quay, do a three hundred metre course or do the full dock. Kim had held up three fingers during the brief, but once we got our breath we decided on the full course....well I persuaded her. We enjoyed it though.

There was soup and hot drinks afterwards and we got to get changed indoors! Although, I did miss the cold gazebo. It makes it all hardcore getting changed outdoors lol.

I have my electric blanket on now, but I am still shivering. My hands and feet are fine, I just feel cold in my core.

I wore my axe through the head headband and Kim wore her knife through the head. Fab fun :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.