Picture Consequences

By consequences

Sharp-tongued

"The first thing I have to say is that it's not my business to judge whether or not you're wasting anybody's time, Mr Mackie. It's not my job to do anything other than assess your clinical need to see the consultant.

"I can see that your situation is causing you real distress, but to perfectly honest, today isn't about solving whatever problems you have. Today is about trying to get you the help that's most appropriate to you. Is that all clear enough?"

I nodded, feeling more than ever that I might be wasting her and everyone's time here.

"Now, if you don't mind, this next part is important - but I have to say, not very exciting. I'm going to run through some questions with you, to help us understand your needs better. Is that OK?"

We then went through a questionnaire of about 30 questions that only added to my feeling that I'd come to the wrong place. In the past week, had I thought about harming myself? Would I say I was depressed? Was I suicidal?

I couldn't help wondering how they'd come up with this - and whether people would really volunteer this information so readily.

At the end of the questionnaire, I said as much.

"You'd be surprised," Janice replied. "When people really are in a hopeless situation, it sometimes comes as a relief to say these things out loud. But of course, not everyone does."

She paused for a moment, then went on. "A colleague of mine recently did an assessment of a man whose wife had left him to look after his kids. He'd had a history of problems, but according to the results of his questionnaire, there were no real grounds for concern.

"It turned out he was self-harming - cutting his forearms with a pair of scissors. In front of the children. And this only came to light when social workers got involved over allegations that he was beating the kids. So yes, you're right - sometimes we get it wrong."



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.