Picture Consequences

By consequences

Can't judge a book

After hearing her story, I felt foolish asking what would happen next, but I also felt I ought to.

"Well, as I said, there'll be an assessment of your needs based on what we've talked about today. I can't really tell you any more than that, I'm afraid. You should get a letter within seven days, telling you what the next steps will be."

As I thanked her and started to leave, she seemed to relax. "So what are these dreams all about, then?" she asked.

"Sorry?"

"Your dreams. I mean, you've told me they're causing you distress, and you've told me a few details about them - but I was just interested in what you think they represent."

She put the completed paperwork to one side. "Sorry, I know I said it was no business of mine - and officially it isn't. But to tell you the truth, I don't want to be doing this job forever - no offence, but it feels like a conveyor belt sometimes. That's why I'm studying for a psychology degree. And, dreams are something I'm fascinated by.

"So I suppose you could say I'm interested on both a personal and academic level. Or you could say I'm just nosy."

I smiled. I got the impression that this was definitely something she shouldn't be doing, but that she'd decided to take a chance on talking to me like a human being. I decided to repay the compliment.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.