JockMcGrumpy

By JockMcGrumpy

The Hobbit

I'm reading this to two of my kids just now, aged 7 and 9. The older one should be reading it himself, but he is enjoying me reading it aloud and it's nice to go back to it and once more encounter the magic of Tolkein. They've seen and loved the new film and already enjoyed the Lord of The Rings trilogy. I might have missed it but in all the hoo hah over the film and the superb job Peter Jackson made of this and the LOTR triolgy, it seems to me that not enough is being said about the genius of Tolkein and his fantastic literary achievement. I'm looking forward to reading more of his work, including Unfinished Tales and other lesser known stuff to the kids and helping them discover the magic for themselves

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.