Old Dubai

If you want a flavour of traditional and unglamorous Dubai, head for the Creek.

You can cross the Creek for a single Dirham (25p) along with the locals. 

Try an abra. Forget health and safety. Forget glamour. Forget timetables. When it’s worth their while, they chug across.

You may be overtaken by ancient wooden vessels or streamlined craft (the “ferries”).

It’s not my first visit to Dubai. When I came on the cruise about five years ago, we were taken to the Malls, the Marina, the Palm, Burt Khalistan, Jumeirah Beach, the Museum and the Snowdome.  We glanced at the gold souk and I was intrigued. Setting off on Saturday on this cruise, I went back for a closer look. And it was wonderful. 

I’m booked in to a restaurant famed for its Emirati cuisine tonight.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.