Lucky mistake

I decided to brave the Dubai Metro this morning. It’s spotless, streamlined, unmanned and brilliant. They have separate carriages for women and children (and men who go in there can be fined 100 dirhams.)

It was so easy - just buy a No1 card and away you go.

Well, I went in the wrong direction. I soon realised my mistake and, although I could have just got off and onto the right one, I was so interested that I travelled right to the terminus.

The train was only underground for three stations and from then on I had stunning rooftop-height views of different areas of the city. We went out way beyond the airport and returned via hazy views of the skyscrapers of Downtown. What a lucky treat.

I did get to Al Fahidi station. I did get to the historical centre, after I’d been able to pop into little local food shops. It’s Friday and food shopping for fresh fish, meat etc was in full swing.

I came to the Arabian Tea Shop. I’d read of it and it was fabulous. Yes, there were tourists in there, but far more locals. I’ve even put my Emirati brunch as an extra.

I wandered, paused, wandered some more, among the exquisitely restored buildings and ingenious artwork, coverings carefully placed to make use of shadows, light and dark.

It’s Friday and many museums are shut - one was due to open at 4.00. But I was exhausted with the heat so I headed back for a swim. 

 I got the right train too.  

Leaving Dubai tomorrow. I’ve learned so much. 

And I now love the place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.