asburydan

By asburydan

Doubling St. Francis

I finished a biography of St. Francis of Assisi this week.  It is The Road To Assisi by Paul Sabatier (1858-1928) who was the first modern biographer of St. Francis.  His book was first distributed in French in 1893 and 1894.  The book I read has editorial editions by Jon M. Sweeney.  I made a second double exposure of St. Francis (in woods) to share as an extra, but that icon is no longer available to me even though the last one I did showed maybe 45 remaining.  Anyway, the book was so good to read, and the photo above is consistent with parts of the story of his life.  Some folks say Francis is second to Jesus in obedience to the lifestyle he chose for himself under what he saw as a  mission  directly from God. The figure is my backyard statue of St. Francis.  Reading the book also made me think how wonderful it must be to visit Assisi, Italy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.