autumn joy

By autumnjoy

spazieren gehen / pause machen

today i had to say goodbye to both the whittenbergs and spencer.

i went to berlin projekt with sheila and afterwards we ate delicious vietnamese food. on my walk home, i was quite sad. i love shelia, william, and their children a great deal. i am immensely grateful that i have known them these 4 months at that they have opened their hearts and home to me. they immediately warmed themselves to my heart and right from the beginning we celebrated thanksgiving. oh they are so wonderful.

then i returned home and remained quiet for a couple of hours until spencer came over. against my better judgment spencer made us go on a walk. this proved to be a wonderful decision. we took a long break from the rain/walk and sat in a quaint café to enjoy a warm cup of coffee. sunday. i think it is apropos that we did 2 of our favorite german phrases: "Spazieren gehen" und "Pause machen." we then ate doners, and spent the rest of the night in my flat. we had wonderful conversation. i am really going to miss spencer. he has been a great and challenging friend to me.

after spencer left i spent 2 hours just sitting in the living room in our only chair. i was sad. i drowned my sorrows in a cup of hot cocoa. ha. i love my life here. i love the people i have been lucky enough to know. i feel a better person for having known these people, and i am sad that it's the end of an era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.