Lucky?

Worked today. The girls are overnighting at Nana and Granddad's. They have had a fab time with 2 of their cousins today, and the full tribe will be together there tomorrow. 6 kids for the day. They all get on, so there's usually not too much drama to contend with.

I was just about finished on the ward today when I was asked to take a call from someone who's son was discharged yesterday without any equipment. Turned out to be one of my dear friends from OT school, who I haven't seen for about 4 years. Her life is busy with full time work and juggling a 16 year old, 14 year old, 9 year old and 5 year old twins. Her 16 year old had dived into the shallow end of a swimming pool last Wednesday, and broke his neck. Thankfully it was bones only, no neurological damage. He's in a brace for the next 3 months. We had a lovely catch up over the phone, and I've now organised the equipment that he needs for managing at home independently. I can't imagine what they've been going through over the past week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.