Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Light trails

JR went to her two gym sessions. 9am-10am! I managed my usual leisurely half hour on the bike. Better than nothing, but not much...

Elizabeth came for Archie today instead of tomorrow, and they went 'foraging' in the park for foliage and berries for table displays. Not sure how much help Archie was.

It was Rufus's birthday (number 14!), and so JR made him some little carrot cake muffins that he can share with his pals or freeze for later. We met up with him and his mum and her friend at the pub for lunch. Fish and chips all round.

After lunch, JR went back home to meet Elizabeth, while I went on into town for a wander. This did not seem right. I NEVER just 'go into town for a wander'. But I had a new iPhone camera app that did ‘light trails', so I wanted to fiddle about with it down at the Christmas Market. But I also popped into Pret for a soya flat white (no pastry) first, as it wasn’t quite dark enough. And I popped in to Lakeland to get a bag of their divine liquorice, a bit of a weakness of mine.

I spent ages sitting beside the big whirly thingy, just fiddling around trying the long exposures. Of course, at 3 seconds, the camera needs to be very steady, so I had my wee plastic stand. 3 seconds, the shortest setting, was too long, but I can edit the 'live' photos and pick a shorter exposure. 

Our Jersey pals are off on a Norwegian adventure - sailing up the coast to the Arctic Circle, hoping to see the Aurora Borealis. What an adventure! (If rather cold...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.