Hornsey Road

This year is the 50th anniversary of The Beatles' 'Abbey Road', which is my favourite album of theirs, particularly for 'The Long One', a medley of eight songs on the second side. 

To mark this occasion, Mark Lewisohn, who is an absolute authority on The Beatles, undertook a tour to talk about the album, under the title 'Hornsey Road', which is the location of the studio where they nearly recorded their final album. The last night of the tour was tonight at HOME in Manchester, and I had tickets for myself, the Minx, and Dan.

I found out this afternoon that the show is three hours long, albeit including a twenty minute break, and that made me mildly anxious; I don't have a very good attention span and, indeed, I don't like long gigs even by my favourite artists. 

But I needn't have worried, it was enthralling. I don't think there was a minute when I wasn't interested in what Lewisohn was saying and, brilliantly, he used isolated tracks of the instruments - "stems" - to highlight both the structure of the songs and, of course, what incredible musicians The Beatles were. I was disappointed when the show was over.

****
-11.0 kgs
Reading: 'Frank Derrick's Holiday Of A Lifetime' by J B Morrison

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.