Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Getting festive

After Elizabeth took Archie out we set off into town for a wander. We recycled the huge bag of used coffee pods (who drinks them all?) and then wandered down to the Portrait Gallery, as we were nearby. I wanted to use my wide angle lens in the magnificent foyer. Luckily, I have my wee safety ring so that I’ll never drop the phone while taking a photo (I did once), so hanging over the balustrade to get the best view wasn’t a problem. JR went off to look round the shop, but I spotted her through the glass (Extra).

We wandered round by the newly opened Malmaison and popped in for a look. Very sumptuous indeed, with little corners and rooms and a big dining room, BUT... the most awful muzak everywhere. We didn’t stay. We also popped in to another wee bar, which was very nicely done, and had quiet music and fantastic chairs, but as we're going out tonight and may well indulge in more than one glass of Prosecco, we decided not to start at 2pm. 

Instead, we walked along George Street, admiring all the decorations - the hotels have really made an effort to compete with the spectacular Dome. We caught a wedding party coming out - the bridesmaids in flimsy sleeveless dresses, but at least the bride had a nice fur stole round her shoulders.

Popped in to Lakeland for some Licorice, then Pret A Manger to wait for the bus, and have a soya flat white and a pastry. Yum yum. I can keep an eye on when my bus is coming, so it's ideal. JR popped back to M&S to get some flowers and was back in time for the bus home.

Archie, Rufus, Christine and Elizabeth are all coming over the road with us for a soirée at Hazel’s. Archie is not home yet, but he'll have to have a bath and a brush up before going. And he'll have to wear something Christmassy. Sorry Arch. I have to as well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.