Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Monday torture session. Actually, it’s a good way to start the week (and it gets it over with). Toni did the training this morning, and also did a body scan. My hydration was good (which is odd because I haven’t been drinking water) but I have lost muscle. This is because I’m not eating enough protein. I had a bit of a lecture on maintaining protein intake as an older person. Three eggs for breakfast? Impossible. And toast isn’t a good lunch, apparently. The upshot being, I’m going to try protein powder - I’ve sent for some. Kate adds it to muffins, which might be a good way, but I suspect it won’t be muffins as I know them...

Popped round the corner for a coffee, then got the bus home. I then spent more than an hour (just as well it was a free 0800 number) on the phone to the bank re a payment that has not gone through despite repeated attempts. Turns out they are very worried about scams and online frauds. And the payment was ‘not in line with my usual expenditure’... what does that mean? How do they know what I might buy that I haven’t bought before? No, they just blocked my repeated attempts. So why didn’t they contact me?

After that, I needed to go stomping over the Meadows to calm down, and oh look - a coffee and a lovely chewy cardamom bun! We met one of his erstwhile walkers, Isobel, who is a trainee doctor and so has been very very busy. 

Archie and JR walked on into town and through the Gardens at a fast pace, but I dawdled around at Victoria Street - I could see some nice evening skies, with George Heriot’s School in the distance. This is a wide angle pano, so the barrier is somewhat distorted - it’s actually a nice curve.

And then I noted that my bus was just coming, so I made it to the bus stop and came home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.