ramblingrose

By ramblingrose

Nutcracker Soldiers

Hi there everyone. I went into St Austell this morning by bus to get a few bits. I thought it would make a change from going by car. I haven't used the bus for ages.....might as well make use of my bus pass!
Anyhow, I popped into Poundland whilst I was there, and couldn't resist these Nutcracker soldiers. They were £1 for the pair. I know they are cheap, but they still look really nice.
According to German folklore, nutcrackers were given as keepsakes to bring luck to the family and protect the home. It is said that they represent strength and power and watches over the family keeping evil spirits and danger away.

They originate from ancestral dining customs where unusual, novelty nutcrackers were part of dining entertainment during the dessert course. It would generate fun conversation whilst tucking into their final course which could include pecans and hazelnuts. Many of the early designs of nutcrackers were of birds, animals and people. It wasn’t until the 1600’s and 1700’s that they took the shape of kings and soldiers that we are familiar with today! Nutcrackers were mainly popular in Germany to begin with, and were crafted in the Erzgebirge mountain regions.
It wasn’t until the 1800’s that this tradition was known worldwide from the release of the Tchaikovsky ballet ‘The Nutcracker Suite’ in 1892.
I love the Nutcracker Doll. It is so nostalgic, and brings back childhood memories.
Thank you for following me. Take care.
Love Theresa x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.