Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Snowy Mountains And Last Fire of Autumn

A freezing cold day, all the road surfaces are like an ice rink so no bike ride today. 

In the morning, after mid morning coffee, I head up to the Braid Hills. Usually there is quite a lot of haze, but today the conditions are very clear. I can see the mountains to the NW are covered in snow.

In the afternoon, the roads are still icy, especially where the sunshine has not managed to reach. I head out to the local woods to capture the last fire of autumn, Extra 1. From Alnwickhill Road and Liberton Road, I head down to the Hermitage of Braid. The sun hasn't reached the bottom of valley, and there is a thick layer of frost. The mud is very solid, so no muddy shoes today. At the Hermitage Doocot, where there is a wild flower and herb garden, I stop to take a photo of the sun hitting the treetops, Extra 2. The wee Hermitage café isn't open, so I head down to Morningside for a nice coffee and cake, the grab a bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.