AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

There's no business like snow business

The trees were like this most of the way home, white with layers of frost. It was thickest in Garforth, but there's nowhere to pull over so this is a bit nearer home. The snow just started as I was on the way.

I grew up on a main road, which was turned into a dual carriageway. We had a front garden (and a back one) though, and double glazing, so it was ok. My school was on the other side of the road and, running down the side, was a snicket which sloped down to the next road. We used to love going over there in the snow with our sledges, hoping that no-one was trying to walk up the slope! Flying down the slope and running slipping sliding skidding back up, dragging the sledge.

I'd get home later, freezing cold, and huddle next to the radiator in the lounge, being warned not to get too close in case of chillblains.

I still don't know what they are...

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.