Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Lost and found

This is the lovely Baxter who appeared in the Manuka forest today, all alone and very over heated. His panting almost equalled mine when I reached the top of Ben Lomond the other day. Luckily I had packed my rucksack with excess water and had my pot with me so I was only too happy to lighten my load somewhat while I waited for his owner to show up. After a few minutes a couple of guys arrived, luckily they had initiative and decided to phone the number on his collar. Turned out Baxter was being walked by friends so it became a little complicated. Various phone calls later it was decided that I would walk Baxter back to the road junction and wait for someone to show up. It didn’t take too long before a most distressed lady from Yorkshire arrived, she had had to hitch from down by the lake. Having had similar experiences with friends dogs I felt so sorry for her, what a panic she was in.
Good deed done for the day and plenty of doggie cuddles bagged I got back to my walk. Because it links up with the before mentioned Te Araroa trail and because I am carrying a big rucksack a few people stopped in great excitement to ask if I was walking the trail. One of them was a 21 year old who hiked the Appalachian Trail last year making him the youngest New Zealander to have done it. He was so charming and full of useful advice and plenty of ‘what not to do‘ advice as well. Have also been chatting to an equally charming young Canadian at the hostel who did the TA trail a couple of years ago so I am definitely in the right part of the world for getting prepared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.