‘On the back of a fag packet’

A bit of a rubbish morning, just so tired and reluctant to get on with things. I took this picture and the one in extra in case they would be the best that I would get!!!

The afternoon was more productive and I did some sewing, the first for a week. I also made a quiche for dinner, a new recipe with butternut squash, onion and blue cheese. B said that it tasted good, my sense of taste is non existent at present.

The patchwork pillow cover in the blip lives on our spare single bed and is made from the scraps from the accompanying quilt. I like to attach a label to the things I make and have been slow in getting this label printed out. The details include the name of the design. My design is entitled ‘on the back of a fag packet’.
The reverse side is shown in extras.

As a child in the post WW11 era I used to help my Dad when he repaired and built radios on the kitchen table, his hobby. He had a box of resistors which had colour coding on them and it was my job to find the correct ones for the job. Before starting he would produce a cigarette packet, open it up and use the inside to draw the diagram and required resistors. Having found him what he needed, I could then arrange, rearrange and make patterns with the contents of the box.

A good opportunity to use the limited paper available at that time, learn how to plan before you start a project and team work. Not that I had any concept of what I was learning at that time. My Mum worked on a Saturday, so Dad and I had quality time together. which sometimes included watching Carlisle United play their home games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.