Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

EveryDay Ideas 5 - Doctorates

Today is a milestone. It marks my final PhD supervision. The year is 2020 and I have now successfully supervised 20 PhD students from both home and overseas. I hope this has made some sort of difference and hopefully an impact to make the world a better place. It has been a privilege to work closely with all these bright people and also a lot of fun with many challenges along the way. P.S. the picture is not my book, just one that I have used a lot for supervision over the years. I wish I had written it!

My idea now, in order to make a further impact, is to undertake research on the doctoral supervision process itself. The aim to help students and their supervisors complete these huge projects within shorter timescales subject to the context of the topic within the Discipline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.