Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Frozen Rosemary

I've done a few tree blips over the last few days so I thought I'd do something on a much smaller scale.

Had a morning full of meetings, one of which was in another building. When we came back at eleven, the snow had been falling for a while but hadn't amounted to much, even at the top of the hill. Was on a conference call up to midday when near the end there was an announcement behind me saying that the access road was getting less than ideal and that it was time to abandon site - especially as the worst of the weather still hadn't arrived.

I wasn't at all concerned so I waited until most of those in two wheel drive cars had gone. The trip down the hill was not entertaining except for the last 20m. Having slowed to 2mph under engine braking I gently touched the brakes to stop well before the road at the bottom. All the electronics mechanical gizmos decided to have party and between them failed to arrest my progress leaving me to gently slide into the road even after manually cadence braking. Fortunately, nothing was passing.

As I was driving off, someone behind me had even greater fun as his car slid straight into the grassy mound just as the track curves at the very bottom of the hill. My colleague had a similar experience. The surrounding roads were simply glass-like, snow over compacted ice. Clearly they hadn't been salted since early morning.

Anyway, I made it home without incident where, like many I'm sure, we were subjected to several hours more snow - the garden is 6" deep. This is the Rosemary that grows in the herb bed close to the back door. Handy for grabbing a handful for recipes, even in the depth of winter.

Have a safe weekend and stay warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.