Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lanterns! (Unlit)

The weather app promised rain in the afternoon, and so we took Archie up the hill in the morning. Just as well, as it was dead right today. Seren, the vet student, was due to take him out at 1.30pm, but sensibly called it off.

In fact, we took him out in the middle of the Nadal/Thiem match, I was sure it'd be a four hour game, but I did see the last two dramatic sets. Terrific game. Amazing athletes, those tennis players.

I wanted to go down to see the Chinese lanterns hanging in St Giles. I had seen a photo in the paper, but I hadn’t realised they were only twinkling in the evenings. So I was a trifle disappointed. Just as well, then, there was a bonus - a chap was singing Robert Burns songs to a small but appreciative audience. Those lanterns, when lit, must make a lovely show.

Archie was very excited this morning when Andrew, our ex-builder, popped in to give us a quote on painting the bedroom. Archie loves Andrew, and Andrew always makes a fuss of him. Such excitement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.