Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dust, noise and snacks

Up very early to be ready for the builders at 8am. They didn’t arrived till 8.30. Could have had an extra half hour snoozing.

Not a lot seems to have been done. But then again, they did the next steps. Holes were made ready for the padstones (they'll support the beams which will support everything above them), the bath was moved and the first part of a brick wall built.

I'm in awe of builders, actually. This job means leaving cement to dry for days sometimes, which means they need to keep (their employees) busy on other jobs at the same time. Which means lots of juggling, organising, buying stuff, phone calls to arrange things. Also, the architect’s drawings are like Double Dutch to me, but he understands them, and tries to explain them to me. I nod frequently. And they really need to know what they're doing when removing walls (with three storeys above).

JR went off to her fitness classes, and had a shower at the gym. She declared it to be fine. We still have the shower anyway, and will have the bath for longer.

I'm enjoying having the toaster and the coffee machine in the lounge - though it means I have fairly frequent snacks.

JR took Archie up to Midmar Paddock, and I took him to the Links later in the afternoon. We passed this nice bike. In a weak moment, I started to do selective colouring with this nice bike, then realised it was a bit tricky, but I had to keep going.

I've been watching all the politics on TV (had to have subtitles on when drilling was going on). I've also had good fun making a photo book of our seven holidays last year.

JR went off to a leaving do with her ex-staff this afternoon.

The builder will only do the next part of the brick wall tomorrow. An 11am start, and no dust!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.