NYC!!

I have been SO excited about today - our trip to New York City.

Susan and Emily came too - they are taking the Sex in the City Bus Tour and then Susan is staying over with her friend Taylor from Uni for a couple of day - not sure how I feel about leaving my daughter in NYC !!

We took the train from New Haven and arrived at Grand Central Station New York 2 hours later... I don't know what I expected Grand Central to be - but it was so beautiful and out of this world. The whole upper concourse is an Apple Store! The lower concourse is restaurants and there are scores of train bays.

My sister and I found the theatre on Broadway that had our Downtown Bus Tour tickets. The temperature was 93 and was steamy! The bus was open topped and had metal seats. I was rather hot and my blue cotton dress was soaked - pretty!

It was quite simply an unforgettable day - all the famous stores, things I thought I would only ever see on TV, Ground Zero and the passion that this is, the new Trade Centre being built, lunch in the financial district looking out to "Our Lady Liberty", NO LITTER, ( this will never cease to amaze me!) - but the noise - oh the noise! They honk their horns the WHOLE time and the emergency services have the LOUDEST sirens - and they just go on and on. We drove under the Manhattan Bridge and could see the Brooklyn Bridge down the river - just enormous.

We had a boat trip arranged for 4pm - to get there we saw that we only had 6 blocks to walk - well it was a sprint to get there on time . I cannot tell you how hot I was - and I had a thumping headache. Susan bought me a hat - I love NY!

We got on the boat and I just knew I couldn't do it - I felt sick and simply exhausted - so we came off the boat just as it was leaving. That tour will have to wait til the next time - and I would do that again but I wound not spend time on a bus tour in the heat of the summer!

We duly left Susan (pang) and took the train back to New Haven. I smiled at the guard on the train who took my gesture the wrong way and that caused us no end of giggles.

What an unforgettable experience this whole day was!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.