wildlife passion

The weather changed and so did my luck. Without the strong winds the owls appeared in the evening, getting decent shots wasn't easy, I did bag a few keepers.
The barn owl is one of my favourite and it flies in silence appearing from nowhere in the dark. I also heard their territorial call for the first time. A real screech that I should imagine in a horror film graveyard scene.
The tawny owl I snapped was impressive too.
The owls stole the show but I had a great day time in a wonderfully located woodland hide. So many birds came to feeders here but importantly they also took time in a drinking and resting in a puddle. It was probably inevitable that a sparrow hawk flew in to feast on the smorgasbord. I didn't see him catch anything but the feathers on his beak when he came to perch on an old log gave the game away. By this time all the other birds just disappeared but I enjoyed my time with this impressive BoP, he looked majestic in the dappled light of the wood and on any other day would not have been relegated to extras, sorry Mr S'hawk.
I had so many images today I could make an album but the selection in extras also includes a squirrel drinking, a nuthatch, the tawny and another barnie with his landing gear down. 
Days like this are memorable and why I love the plentiful wildlife opportunities in Norfolk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.