Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

Our little sister is 6 months old tomorrow!

They may be a bit rough sometimes because they are toddlers and don't quite get it, but Oscar and Bailee love Maple so much. Here Oscar and Maple are looking at each other. Maple grinned at Oscar and Oscar exclaimed, "Maple looking at me!" She then cooed and giggled at him. They bring her toys, wipe her face and I sometimes find Oscar reading her books. I remember how hard it was for the first couple of months for them to accept that there was someone else taking up some of their mummy's time..... these tender moments make all that seem irrelevant.

Today I took Maple back to her birthplace (City Hospital) for a checkup with a new, recommended paediatrician. He was fantastic, Maple simply adored him! I got him to look at her turned-in feet and he reassured me they will correct themselves as they have full flexibility, Bailee had the same problem due to tight positioning in the womb. Bailee's corrected once she started walking, although they turn from different parts so I wanted to be sure.

He also checked her weight and height: she is 18lb, 8oz (8.4kg) and between the 75th and 91st percentile for weight. Her height measured in at 72cm, making her very tall like me. I knew she had long legs! I am chuffed with my little chunk. She hasn't started solids yet so I am feeling proud to have grown her from my very own milk!

The doctor was pleased with her development, she is a strong, happy girl. Unfortunately the successful appointment ended with her 6 month vaccinations. In contrast to the last time, the nurse let me breastfeed her through them, it definitely helped her!

So this time 6 months ago we were at the Mall of Emirates. A few hours before Stu and I had walked in the 43 degree heat for about 30 minutes to Jumeirah Beach and back. I had to pause along the way as I had 'the stitch'.... Little did we know these were the beginnings of labour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.