Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Better now!

Archie didn’t forgive us all evening for having left him in the vet's. He refused to sit with us unless we trapped him. However, after a good night's sleep, he's forgotten it all, he's back to normal, and his ear isn’t sore any more. He's still on two lots of medication.

JR went off for her full-on fitness morning: two gym sessions, then walk along to the Commie Pool for a one hour Pilates session, then walk back home. Three solid hours of exertion!

I did my bike, then Archie and I wandered along to the cafe, and to pop in to Body Street to announce that I had the doctor's letter (£25) and to book my session. The trainer was busy with a customer, so I waited and watched the whole rigmarole. I think I can almost do most of the things. But it's a lot easier when you're just sitting watching... Anyway, I’ve booked for Monday.

But I went to the cafe first, because I didn’t want to be there at a busy lunchtime. Archie knew fine where we were going, and started his carry-on: refusing to move. I really should put the harness on when I’m going to a cafe - easier to drag persuade him.

They remembered our last visit where he barked excitedly when I got up to leave, so this time the waiter brought the bill to me, I paid on the phone and only then did I put my scarf and coat on to make a hurried exit, but he still had time to make a bit of a fuss! We walked home again and just got in before the rain came. 

We spent the afternoon relaxing and watching a film I’d recorded - 'The Talented Mr Ripley'. We'd seen it years ago, but it was worth watching again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.