stuartjross

By stuartjross

Tyres

I could have had a nice picture of me and the dogs on top of Maol Ruadh in a blizzard. M didn't come the whole way as she was finding the cold wind painful in her face, and it really felt intensely cold in the gusts.

I have delayed our next project by a day, again in the mountains, simply because of the predicted Monday winds. I still have heaps of desk stuff to catch up on anyway.

I just got in and the man from the tyre garage phoned to say my tyres had arrived early and were available to fit today. Off to the town and M came too to stock up on more flu and cold type medicines for the boys who continue to cough and sneeze.

As an aside when M went to pay for the goods at the chemist she was advised that, upon registration (a two minute job) that such medicines are available free to under sixteens. I am of the belief that there is no such thing as a free lunch, or a free calpol for that matter. None Scottish blippers may also be unaware that Scottish patients prescribed pharmacy remedies will not be presented with a bill at the chemist counter either.

For those who are unfortunate to be regulars at their local surgery it must save a small fortune and along with our council tax freeze makes a big "vote us in again" plea for the SNP led administration.

May be if I write to Mr Salmond and explain I need my ludicrous gas guzzling car to go up the sides of mountains to do surveys for renewable energy schemes I might get a McConechy tyre voucher. I get taxed to hell as though it was used as a Chelsea tractor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.