Wax-eye (Silvereye, White-eye, Tauhou)

I left Christchurch at 11 this morning in 17 deg C heat and it increased by about 5 deg for every 100km I travelled so that by the time I got home it was over 30. Thank goodness for my convertible - just a pity I don't have air con in the house!

I haven't seen a wax-eye at my place for a while, probably because food is easier for them to find at this time of year. When I got home from Christchurch and was putting my groceries away I found this pear in an almost liquid state in my fridge. Rather than put it straight in the bin I thought I'd see if any birds wanted a go at it first.

A pair of wax-eyes arrived within minutes and were stuck into a great feast by the time I noticed them. I'm not sure if it was because of the extreme ripeness of the pear or the fact that it was chilled from the fridge - because it's 34 deg C out there right now.

I realise this is a bad photo - taken through a window and from too far away so it's cropped beyond reason, BUT, like yesterday's bellbird, the wax-eye has a brush tipped tongue for feeding on nectar, and you can see the brush tip here. Tongue detail best seen in large - just pretend you can't see how blurry that makes the over-cropped image. Some of what you see under his tongue is pear juice but you can also see the tiny bristles at the tip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.