Teacher, you do this too

One of my tasks that I have to ensure is done is that the students learn some vocabulary related to their job. Maybe their diploma wasn’t in English, they are low level learners. The only way they can get motivated is to use their phones so there are some good apps which help. Unfortunately I came last.. my argument is they’re faster than me.. probably focus more and it’s specific to being a refinery operator. It was fun.
After we had some interesting discussions about how they can take more than one wife. A wife they said, and girlfriends, like a spare.. hmm.. some were genuinely surprised when they learned we don’t do this. For many, if not all, I’m probably their first female teacher, first foreign teacher. A very different experience.
Into the city to teach my teens after. Always fun. They were tired. It’s midweek after all and they’re overloaded with tests to mostly memorise for. I also introduced them to the phrase delayed gratification; in an attempt to get a bit more work done! We finished with the game categories. We play in teams; it gets very competitive, and creative. They’re tired, out of control and loud - but happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.