2013 in pictures......

By GemmaSavage

Day 22: Homeward Bound

We've had a bit of an adventure today. We woke to yet more snow and falling snowflakes that became quite heavy over my morning coffee. At 7am we had a text to say Libby's school (1 mile away) was closed for the day, followed by an announcement that the University, where hubby & I work, would be open. With my parents living 20 minutes away in the heart of the Rhondda Valley I had no choice but to take Libby to work with me, the snow is always x10 worse with them. Hubby dropped us off in his 4x4 and we waited for colleagues and clients to arrive.

After 2 hours Libby got bored so we caught the bus home which was very exciting! Libby's 1st public transport outing and the last bus home as service was then suspended due to the road conditions (phew). The bus stop is only about 8-10 minutes away from home on foot BUT we have a steep hill to climb to get onto our estate. This is the photo of said hill! Libby was amazing, there was no way I could carry her, my works bag & her rucksack up there. But not once did she ask to be. She pumped those little legs right up the hill, passed the fallen branches, over the snow bumps, through the slush all the way home.

We have spent the afternoon colouring, watching films and chatting which has been really lovely. I usually get so distracted with other 'stuff' that I don't spend much quality 1 on 1 time enjoying the quietness. Today I decided to be more mindful and enjoy the here and now....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.