Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Frozen in.

Had to take my car in for a MOT this morning so had an hour to kick around while it was done. I use an independent garage not far from home but there wasn't enough time to get home, do something useful and then get back to get off to work. Normally I'd simply work from home but several meetings got called so I had to trek down to Daventry.

So, as usual, I made good use of this hours time and took a walk along the Ashby canal close by the garage. This is the first time it's been quite like this. I'd only gone a short way and I realised that I was already forty minutes into the hour and it was time to turn around and get back.

It was then into the office for meetings and to try and sort out what seem to be endless application problems - installation failures (thank you Microsoft) and system configuration issues. By the end of the day, I managed to get one of them fixed. I think that counts as a result.

The upside on the day is that my boss says he feels that we are as far along as he expected. Maybe I just have much higher targets and expectations. I'm finding it difficult to reign in my ideas that we should attempt to add as much value as possible. A number of opportunities I fear will be missed. Doing just enough isn't something that I'm used to doing. I suppose I will be indoctrinated in the ways of the business....

Tonight's Camera club meeting was cancelled - the access and car-parks were simply not safe for the majority of members. My first hour at home was phoning round as many members I could to make sure that they had seen the message sent earlier.

Press "L" to leap into the canal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.