CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Rural architecture

Dreams within dreams....
I woke the next morning.
I say I woke but I actually awoke from the dream where I had dreamt that I had woken in a panic that I had overslept and missed my first booked telephone triage appointment of the day. For some reason I’d been sleeping on the sofa, I think at mum and dad’s because as I looked down the long corridor in my panic it was definitely down the hall into their kitchen. Bizarrely, it looked like Graham Colling, of Blip fame, and the gentle, kindly Mrs R, from my childhood, sat at the kitchen table having coffee with hot milk, surrounded by lots of ‘kit’ being charged (mobile phones, lone worker device, etc). They were oblivious to my panic.
I came more fully to. I took a couple of deep breaths and realised my jaw was set rigid and my neck and shoulders felt as the had been carved and set in granite.
I lay for a moment, I wasn’t late after all, I’d woken before my alarm. I thought, that yesterday was just a pretty typical half day, after a day when I hadn’t had to go so far because of the weather...it was just the start of another week, not the end. Just one half day of five full days of similar.
I set about hauling my body into the day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.