Needs

Intended to get up early and go for a ride with His Nibs as the weather looked slightly less than awful for once but too knackered. It seriously felt like I was still catching up from a crap night of little sleep on Tuesday.

So pottered around instead with stuff on the domestic front before taking mesen off for a swift 90 minutes at the flicks, what with there being a few new releases I wanted to catch.

Downhill got the ball rolling, actually a lot more watchable than I expected and perfectly fine but really quite pointless when the original Force Majeure (that it's an English language remake of) is so excellent. It did help however that I am not a Will Ferrell expert or fan in the slightest, I don't even think I've ever seen one of his films from start to finish, although I must have seen bits of Elf on many occasions with my girls over the years, so I wasn't expecting him to be funny or 'Ferrell-like' at any point because I don't know what 'Ferrell-like' is. Julia Louis-Dreyfus was very good for the most part though, and by far the person who's 'side' you take right from the off, and especially in the most uncomfortable, squirm-inducing moments.

With the youngest of my two girls away at a pal's for a sleepover, I asked my older girl if she wanted to go to see a film with me over teatime, putting the suggestion of 'Invisible Man' out there because I really wanted to see it after hearing a 100% glowing review of it on t'wireless. "Really? It looks so bad. It looks like every other horror film ever made" came from the riposte from the 16 year old movie expert, followed shortly afterwards by, "Is Parasite still on?" How could I refuse such a request....second viewing for me, first for her - huge thumbs-up from both of us. I said the other day on here that The Lighthouse would be my film of the year, but I dunno, maybe I need to see the both of them for a third time.

(F)Ridge Pale Ale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.