A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

It's Started

Yesterday, when I arrived at school, I was met with the news that we were closing for 15 days. Why anybody thinks it will be better in a fortnight, I am not sure. I fear it may last for months.

Any thoughts of stocking the freezer for the difficult times to come were soon dispelled. Mercadona, Lidl, Eroski, all the same. The locusts had descended and stripped them bare of everything.

We went across the border into Gibraltar this morning and did manage to get some provisions from Morrisons, but there, too, the vultures were picking the bones clean.

So now we are in a state of emergency. Schools, restaurants, bars , beaches, even airspace soon it seems, all closed to keep the dreaded virus at bay.

But what's the point? The residents of Madrid, where the worst concentration of all is to be found, have defied the Government's instructions, jumped in their cars and come to their holiday homes on the coast. Bringing the Corona with them.

And stripping the supermarkets bare as well, because of course their cupboards were empty.

So thanks for that. I am now effectively confined to my flat for the foreseeable.

But at least I have what I need. So it won't be too bad.

Just depends how long it all lasts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.