Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Magnolia Stellata

What a beautiful sunny day! The gorgeous sunshine and blue skies were just what we needed to cheer us up with the continuous bad news we are hearing about every day due to the Coronavirus effect.

Thomas got home late last night and I am relieved that he is safely at home. He has been notified by the university that all lectures and exams will be online so at this stage it looks like he won't be going back to university until October when the next academic year starts again. I think he will go bonkers - as will I - with being at home and not having that much to do. All his summer travel plans are on hold.

I went grocery shopping this morning and the lack of products was ridiculous. I don't know if it is just our branch of Waitrose but in addition to the complete lack of storage cupboard foods, they also had hardly any chicken, eggs, and other fresh items. I heard that Lidl is well stocked so I will try and get to one this week.

I met a friend for lunch. Of course the restaurant was half full - but it was lovely to catch up and enjoy a salad lunch. I have just heard the latest advice from the government to avoid social contact and to avoid pubs, clubs and theatres. I have a dinner out this weekend to celebrate someone's birthday and we have theatre tickets for next week, which we probably now have to avoid. Do we get a refund of theatre tickets? 

The magnolia is starting to bloom at last and it looked lovely in the sunshine. I guess it will be dog walks in open spaces and more time at home over the next few weeks. When will this end? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.