Ferjen

By Ferjen

Eggs

We eat a lot of eggs in this household but there have been none in the local shops for a few days. Today John's colleague at work gave us a dozen eggs from his small holding where he has a brood (is that the right word?) of chickens and ducks. That brightened up my day. How kind of him.

It's been a funny day again. I was invited to pop in to the council office to discuss our corvid-19 support plan for our neighbours that I have been involved in.

Our group on facebook has divided the town into 12 groups of roads. We have then arranged teams of volunteers into these groups. Within the sub groups we take a road each. We will then drop leaflets (which another volunteer has designed) through our neighbours doors incase anyone needs help with groceries or a friendly person to speak to on the phone while they isolate. The council have helped me write guidelines and rules for volunteers and offered to print leaflets for us. They are also offering back up for any cases that need more support. We have well over 100 volunteers geared up to start work. How amazing is that. Our town has a population of 20,000 people but a unique community spirit which I am proud to be part of.

Meanwhile we have had lots of discussion with the other preschool trustees today. We have quite a number of key workers children and vunerable children and so a skeleton service will continue we think.

I keep reflecting on what we will think when we look back on this time in a few years when hopefully life will have returned to normal. So many worries and so much uncertainity. How will we manage (and I know we are luckier than many and have so much to be thankful for).

I think we graps onto the kindness people are showing, we take one day at a time and we take advantage of having more time with our little ones and shelter them from the worry. So that is what I shall try to do - from tomorrow that is. For now, I am putting my head in the sand and reading my book to escape from this strange version of reality for a short while before the enormity of it makes me cry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.