Secret river

I was sitting in bed, this morning, trying to decide which route to run when the Minx pointed out that she could drop me off somewhere and I could then run home. This is something we've done many times before but for some reason it hadn't occurred to me. 

There's a nice run, which is just over eight miles from Nook back to Kirkby Lonsdale, and I opted to do that (although I neglected to take into account that the first three miles are mostly uphill and I'm carrying a few extra kilos at the moment!).

At the end of the road where the Minx dropped me off, there was a sign saying 'Road closed' and I didn't have to run far to see why. I'd assumed it would be for some roadworks but in fact a section of the road has collapsed. 

I've always had a fascination for water running beneath manmade constructs, starting, I think, when I found out that the River Fleet actually runs under part of Fleet Street. I think I could have spent some time there looking at this water course brought back into the light.

However, there was a run to be completed and I set back off on my way. 

****
-9.9 kgs
I finally finished reading 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend. God, that was painful. A very dry account of the the history of electronic music, I need to remember in future that if I'm not picking a book up it's because, on some level, I really don't want to read it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.