Tux / Steep & Filter

You don't have to stop moving for long in this house in order for Tux to come and find you! Charlie came to visit, last evening, and I was chatting to her this morning when Tux came and plonked himself down on my legs. 

By this time, Dan was already in Manchester at RNCM although it turned out that his morning lessons were cancelled so he had nothing on until midday, which is pretty galling when you've caught the 07:08 from Oxenholme to get there for your first lesson!

Charlie set off late morning for late breakfast in Lancaster with an old friend of hers and then walked down to work, which left me with the afternoon to myself. I'd already decided to go across to Skipton to pick up a couple of presents for Charlie's birthday on Monday and, happily, the Minx said she'd meet me there.

My first contracting job, way back in 1991, was in Harrogate and I used to commute there every day, initially from Kendal and then from Cowan Bridge, when we moved there in the autumn. Consequently, I'm very familiar with the road between Kirkby Lonsdale and Skipton, and I felt quite nostalgic as I took a leisurely drive across. 

I don't know how busy Skipton usually gets on a Saturday and whether many people were staying home because of the coronavirus but the car parks were pretty full. I found a space, though, and met up with the Minx in a car park just next to the canal. 

I haven't seen her as much as I usually would as I've been at home all week with Dan and Abi, and even though we have a multitude of methods to keep in touch, it was nice to have a mooch around together and even nicer to have a late lunch at Steep & Filter, which I'd highly recommend if you're in the area. The vegan menu is excellent and our food was delicious, and there's a cracking eco store there, too. 

****
-10.4 kgs
Reading: 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.